General Information


Ireland is located in the extreme north-west of the European continent.

The Republic of Ireland occupies 70,282 sq. km. of the island of Ireland which has a total area of 84,421 sq. km.

The Republic has a relatively sparse density of population with 58 inhabitants per sq. km. which compares to densities of 244 in the United Kingdom and 349 in the Netherlands.

The Republic of Ireland, republic comprises of about five-sixth of the island of Ireland. The country consists of the provinces of Leinster, Munster, and Connaught (Connacht) and part of the province of Ulster.

The rest of Ulster, which occupies the northeastern part of the island, constitutes Northern Ireland, a constituent part of Great Britain.

The capital and largest city is Dublin.

Cork is the second largest city and a major port.

The major centres of population are Dublin, Cork, Galway, Limerick and Waterford.

Sixty per cent of the population live in cities and towns of 1,000 people or more.

The present population is over 4.2 million, the highest on record since 1861.

The Euro is the basic unit of currency.1 Euro= Rs 67.60

Ireland enjoys a temperate maritime climate, due mainly to its proximity to the Atlantic Ocean and the presence of the Gulf Stream.

The dominant influence on Ireland’s climate is the Atlantic Ocean.
Ireland does not suffer from the extremes of temperature experienced by many other countries at similar latitude.

Average annual temperature is about 9°C.

The highest monthly average high temperature is 19°C (66°F) in July & August.

The lowest monthly average low temperature is 2°C (36°F) in January & February.

The time difference between Dublin and New Delhi is 5.5 hours.
Dublin adopts Greenwich Meridian Time.